1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

possible first blower?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by jpang115, Dec 28, 2005.

1. jpang115

jpang115 LawnSite Member

I have been a member of this site for a few months now and i would like to say that this site is great i have learned a lot over the past months reading threads on this site. until now i havent really had any questions. today i was in home depot and happend to end up in the outdoor power equipment section and came across a rebuilt echo pb403 back blower for $220 and a one year "full" warrenty my question is have any of you had problems with this blower and do you think this blower would be a a good first blower to purchase.

almost forgot im a landscape contracting student and i work full time for a landscaping company in the summer this blower would be used to do fall and spring cleanups and blow the drive ways off of grass of the 5 yards i cut on the side

CHRIS MELROSE LawnSite Member
    from MIDWEST

The reason why most go with a bp blower is for power....The 403t is not much more powerful than alot of handheld blowers....Go Big! Spend the extra $180 and go with the PB-620 or The Stihl BR-550...What's $180 bucks? Better to have more power than not enough.
  3. lawnboy dan

lawnboy dan LawnSite Gold Member

i disagree-this would make a good first blower. these blowers are ok and the desighn has proven to be reliable. its a good buy for that price. it should be adiquate for your needs.
  4. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

That little Echo is just fine we had our fill of the big HEAVY blowers and will not buy any more. They are very heavy and use a lot of fuel and require a lot of maintenance. And they are very difficult to get into the trailer cages!!
  5. jpang115

jpang115 LawnSite Member