Power loss on hills

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lahanko, Jun 1, 2002.

1. lahanko

lahanko LawnSite Member
    from NY

I have a new Toro Z-Master 20 hp Kohler with 52-inch deck.
    The machine has approximately 20 hours on it and I have noticed a problem with it while going up steep hills (more than 25 degrees). The motor bogs down like it is about to stall (real close).

The hill is in my back yard and I have gone up it many times with no problems. Today the machine was doing it every time I mowed up the hill. I tried the hill without the blades on and no problem, turned the blades on and tried the hill again, no problem, what gives? Runs great on the flat and once at the top of the hill where it levels out. The hill is about 60 feet to the top.

Could it really be the plugs already? I did notice black smoke at one point when I just happen to look back.

2. Tvov

Tvov LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

Possibly your choke is not adjusted correctly. You may have to have the dealer look at it.

Also, with only 20 hours, you could have a dirty carb. Sometimes dirt or dust from the factory will get into a new engine and screw things up.

For both these problems, carefully go over with the dealer what the warranty covers. Years ago I got screwed because the warranty didn't cover "dirty carbs" (I didn't want to mess with blower because it was so new), and I got stuck with a $40.00 repair bill for a new machine.

Check to see that you don't have dirt/grass in the gas tank. The movement of the mower means that the dirt gets dislodged from the gas line inlet, but then eventually settles back down, causing problems. Also, if the dirt is not fully blocking the line, it will only make the engine bog when under load (like going up a hill), but not on flat ground. I had this problem last summer with one of my walk-behinds and it took forever to figure out what the problem was.

Hope this helps.

3. Mowingman

Mowingman LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Texas