Pre-emergant or seed first???

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by CELawnsolutions, Mar 13, 2007.

1. CELawnsolutions

CELawnsolutions LawnSite Member

I am still new to this... So cut me a little slack: ;)

I have a client who has few bare spots here and there. Now is the time we should be putting pre-emerg. down. But should I seed and maybe aerate 1st?

2. clallen03

clallen03 LawnSite Senior Member

Well if you put Pre-M out before you seed you will waist the homeowners money. Pre-M stops seeds from germinating including grass seeds.

I would hold off on the Pre-M if you want to fill in those hold in the lawn.

I'm no expert but I try to help when I can.

3. LawnSharks

LawnSharks LawnSite Senior Member

ditto Any pre-emergent is going to ****** the germination of grass seeds. Go ahead and aerate, over-seed and wait 'til you get a good even stand of grass seedlings. Wait until the grass is 2 1/2 to 3" and then put down the pre-emergent. I don't know what your mean temp is now but crabgrass will start to jump once the ground is 60 degrees and higher.
    Good luck. Any seeding now coupled with pre-emergents is pretty tricky.

4. CELawnsolutions

well the spots aren't horrible. The ground temp has to be getting close to 50-60 now. It will way above normal temps over the next few days so now is the time to do the pre-emergents.
    Do you guys have a good product I can apply once the seed does come up so I can kill off the weeds.

Or do you think I should just go ahead and apply the pre-emergent and see if the spots fill themselves in?

5. CELawnsolutions

Oh by the way I use Lesco Products here.

6. MStine315

MStine315 LawnSite Senior Member

You can use a product like Tupersan, which is a pre-emergent that allows for seeding, or you can spray Drive post-emergently to control crabgrass as it comes up. (Of course this is assuming you are properly licensed)

7. Frank Fescue

Frank Fescue LawnSite Senior Member