Pre Pays

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by crossboneracing, Jan 1, 2007.

1. crossboneracing

crossboneracing LawnSite Member

Anyone have experience with prepays and how decent they are as a marketing campaign? I am toying with the idea and wondering how much of a discount to give, include spring and fall cleanups on the estimates, and how well this caters to either homeowners or commercial managment accounts? Anyone who has some advice on anything would be helpful as well as how many mows to estimate, etc or anything else I excluded. Also maybe include one pruning in the spring?
  2. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

You would receive more replies if you posted this in the right forum; Commercial Lawn Mowing.

Anyway, we have over about 15-20 clients who pre-pay for services every year. And I've been accepting pre-pay for a good 7-8 years now. So I'd say I have a pretty decent amount of experience with it.

I'll try to answer your questions and then give you some tips from my experience with it.

First, understand that cash-flow is key to this business. I'd venture to say that most LCOs and contractors in general fail because they failed to manage cash-flow properly. So any time you can get an influx of money like this, you are helping cash-flow problems. The more money you have sitting in the bank, the less cash-flow problems and headaches you'll have. So I am highly in favor of pre-pay. It helps a lot! And this is why it's beneficial to take a loss (discount).