preemergent granule advice...in Fla (ric help)

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by olive123, Oct 21, 2005.

1. olive123

olive123 LawnSite Senior Member

I work in the pest control industry in S Fla. I recently obtained a job ridding weed from medians etc. We are getting ready to begin the program of raking mulch, pulling and spraying, applying a granular preemergent then mulching.
    It is extremly critical that I get a handle on it.
    I am recommending snapshot and another recommends ronstar. (we ruled out the granular forms of surflan and pre-m)
    ANY feedback and observations on the the two would be greatly appreciated.
    thank you

2. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Olive

First, as I read the label Ronstar is not labelled for this application, not that it wouldn't work.

Second, I personally have had very little luck with Snap shot. I have had great success with Pennant Magnum, However it must be sprayed.

3. ArizPestWeed

ArizPestWeed LawnSite Bronze Member

The label states that you can use more than one prem at a time .
    To me , that's the , well , a very important key to control .
    If you apply 2 or more , you are on the roght track .
    Is your goal of control grass or broad leaf ?
    The labels will tell you which is best fot your target pest .

4. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Olive

Don't forget to fertilize under the mulch before installing it.

Airhead