Preferred Snowblower

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by cwlo, Nov 23, 2000.

1. cwlo

cwlo LawnSite Member

I have had a lot of luck with Toro snowblowers, and am currently looking at a 2450GTS. However, I am wondering if anyone has compared it to the Honda 520. The Honda seems to be a little more balanced of a machine as far as "feel" and weight distribution. From the specs, The Toro seems to have slightly more power, as its a 2 cycle versus the Honda 4 cycle. I'm guessing that perhaps there isn't much difference between the two machines. Anyone?

2. CCLC

CCLC LawnSite Senior Member

I too am very satisified with my toro snowblowers. We will be getting another snowblower here shortly. It most certainly will be a toro.

3. HandyHaver

HandyHaver LawnSite Member

This is my first year out and am having the same dilema as to which blower to get. I'm a few key strokes away from ordering one but it's a toss up between the Honda520A or the Toro CCR3650. Both machines have got good feedback out here. They both weigh in about the same,& both are about the same price. The Toro is a 6.5 hp 2 stroke, the Honda 5 hp 4 stroke. From reading past post and talking to guys in my area, they both are good reliable machines. I guess what's hanging me up here is "MORE POWER" (ARH..ARH..ARH).
    I have to make a decision here soon so any feed back on this theory would be appreciated

4. plowking35

plowking35 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S.E. CT

Rememeber two strokes make all their power up in the rpm range, as soon as it bogs down, all your power is gone. With the four stroke, as the rpms drop the torgue goes up, and you have just as much power as at high rpms. I have had both four and two stroke single stage blowers, and the honda is way for us.
    Dino

5. HandyHaver

HandyHaver LawnSite Member

Thanks Dino,