Preliminary Review of Deere E/H Controls

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by ARP, Apr 21, 2008.

1. ARP

ARP LawnSite Bronze Member

Hi all, great forum here- I’ve been hanging around for a few years learning from the excellent experience represented here. I’m finishing up my second to last semester of school and am trying to get into the precision grading and environmental contracting market. To get my feet wet in the excavation business and get going on my own this summer, I am connecting with landscapers and excavation contractors in my area looking for work that involves knowledge of heavy equipment. Quick background: I have worked for several years (summers, and a month every winter, and occasional school breaks), for a large earthmoving contractor as an assistant site supervisor, operator, and GPS layout technician.

The business plan I have laid out has me starting out doing small jobs with skidsteers and renting larger equipment as needed while I start and eventually moving into a 3000 ROC skidsteer with the VTS package. As part of my pre-business homework, I have been talking with my local Bobcat, Cat, and Deere dealers about various financial programs as well as trying to get a feel for the new machines on the market. Having spent a summer on a Bobcat 863 and a Cat 236, and then most recently running a NH 190 for a brief period of time, I have enough experience with different control patterns to develop my preference for the joystick/pilot control pattern on a skidsteer and have such have started testing out Cat’s, Deere’s, and Bobcat’s controls.

I took a brief trip to my local Deere dealer today and got to play around in the yard with a new 325 skid with the E/H controls for about 15 minutes and developed a few thoughts about the controls and the machine.
    Please take my thoughts with a grain of salt as I have yet to try any of the competitor’s machines and have yet to really run the machine in a production setting.