Price, Distance, Warranty what are your thoughts?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by webdrifter, Mar 9, 2007.

1. webdrifter

webdrifter LawnSite Member

I'm leaving early tomorrow morning to pick up a Hustler Super Z mower, but I'm still trying to figure out the best route to take.

Option #1.... I can drive 50 miles and get a used 2005 model 60" 27 hp Kohler with 29 hours on it for $7000. I know the owner, and the mower looks new. This mower would still be under original warranty till August of this year.

Option #2... I can drive 275 miles and get a new 2006 Super Z 52" 27 hp Kohler with 1 hour on it, with the full two year warranty for $6900 cash, or a new 2005 identical to my friends 60" 27 hp with full two year warranty for $7300 cash.

I'm only starting out with my own property and a couple of my neighbors so I'll only be putting maybe 100 to 150 hours a year on it for the first couple of years. Is the extra year warranty on the new mowers worth driving an extra 450 miles round trip, considering the amount of hours I'll be using it?

Your thoughts please...

2. NC Greenscaper

NC Greenscaper LawnSite Senior Member

All sound like a lot of mowers for only 100-150 hours a year. Might save yourself a ton of money with a Walkbehind. What are the sizes of the properties you will be cutting? Is this a parttime venture? Where do you hope to expand.
    Gary

3. ACA L&L

ACA L&L LawnSite Bronze Member

Drive 10 miles and buy a john deere at home DePot..... If ya want my honest opinion.

4. amtrucker22

amtrucker22 LawnSite Member
    from Florida

I would go with the 2006 60" mower for the price difference and longer warranty. Just a couple more hours (each way) and $300 for a lot longer warranty. Just my .02 worth. I hope your properties are large to be purchasing this size mower. I can tell you that you will love this machine once you get it though!

Good luck

5. webdrifter