Price Increases due to gas prices?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by rockandroller, Aug 3, 2004.

1. rockandroller

rockandroller LawnSite Member

:cool:

Hey Ya'll. I'm new to the forum so please cut me some slack. I'll try not to waste all the veterans time with my newbie questions but I gotta ask about this. I'm in my second year of the lawn biz, my first year full-timing it. Things have gone really well thus far as far as securing a solid client base. My question is this: Should I charge more now that gasoline prices are still hanging high, or is that going to upset my new customers who are still getting used to me?? If the consensus is yes to price increases, how much more should I charge?? Hope this hasn't been asked to many times. I tired the search feature first but had no luck...

2. BW4486

BW4486 LawnSite Member

i've read several threads about it, and most people don't see anything wrong fuel surcharges.

Let me ask a question. If prices fell below normal would you charge less?

3. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

i added a fuel charge to my clients this year. i figured out how much more it was costing me in fuel (this requires some record keeping) and then split the costs up amongst my customers. I built in a little more cushion than absolutely necessary to make sure i covered all my bases. mine worked out to +$2.25 weekly fuel surcharge.

4. Groundcover Solutions

Groundcover Solutions LawnSite Bronze Member

My lawn service increased it services charges $2 after two weeks. I was fine with it because i know how much fule costs to operate equipment all day all of wich requiers large amounts of fule. If you did not plan on gas prices being so high it can truly hurt your bottom line. I see no problem with it and I gladly pay the charge as long as there work is good and timely as it is.

5. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member