1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Priceing mulching and fertilization jobs

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ShaneLawnCare, Apr 4, 2010.

1. ShaneLawnCare

ShaneLawnCare LawnSite Member

This is my first year in business and I am wondering how to price a remulching job and fertilization. Thanks
  2. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 LawnSite Platinum Member

2.5x's the cost of the mulch, total price. Check with your state, most likely you have to be licensed to spread fertilizer, especially crabgrass preventer or weed-n-feed.

Probably check with your state's department of agriculture.
  3. ShaneLawnCare

ShaneLawnCare LawnSite Member

Thank you and I will check
  4. Hoy landscaping

Hoy landscaping LawnSite Senior Member

yeah be careful with the fert. i didnt kno i needed a license for a while
  5. ALC-GregH

ALC-GregH LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

I was told that you don't need a license to put down fert, you only need it for anything ending is "cides". I was told this 2 years ago. Maybe I'll call to confirm.
  6. Hoy landscaping

i read on the AG departments website that theres a pesticide license. im not sure what it covers
  7. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

The best way to price is to give it away the first year and see what happens in year 2.

Not to be a huge smart azz but what are you thinking of charging? What are your expenses. Overhead, Insurance, equipment , wages, on and on. I wouldn't take anyones advice on what to charge until you know what your business NEEDS to charge.

Good Luck.
  8. stephen424

stephen424 LawnSite Senior Member

just charge $30 per yard, plus the price of the mulch...since it's your first year in business. this is not a lowball price, but it's not the biggest profitable price either....right in the middle.