Pricing a two acre fall cleanup

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by wmcrum6, Oct 17, 2005.

1. wmcrum6

wmcrum6 LawnSite Member
    from NE Ohio

I am new to the industry and am facing my first challenge of pricing a two acre heavy forested residential property. This guys yard looks like a forest with hundreds of mature trees. He wants a firm price of cleaning and removing all of the leaves. He will not accept an estimate. If I weren't hungry for work, I would just walk away. My biggest challenge is loading and hauling away the large volume of leaves. I made suggestions that he (or I) create a mulch bed in his back property, but he didn't like the idea. Nor would he accept the idea Mulching and blowing the leaves into wooded area. I have been planning on charging a rate of 50.00 per hour, for a two or three person crew. Any ideas on how many hours it would take to clean two acres? Weight/volume of leaves?
  2. Appalachian landscape

Appalachian landscape LawnSite Senior Member

hundreds of trees? how many trees are there? 2 acres is huge, you ever done a clean up this big before? $50 split 3 ways is not enough. You'll barely make anymore than your employees. The way you describe it, and hauling the leaves away, I'm thinking around $1500-$2000. Hard to say with vague info.

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Better to be hard up for work than to pay to do work. Wait a year or 2 before doing one this big and get some pricing and cost info under your belt.
    Start small and make small mistakes to learn.
  4. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member
    from Pa