1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by XOFMOT, Jun 15, 2001.

XOFMOT LawnSite Member

Here's another one for all to ponder on......

When performing an estimate for a prospective client, how do all of you come up with your $$$ amount? DO you figure out the square footage then multiply it by an XYZ number then add in additional charged for hills, more than average trees and so on..? Or, do you look at the property and figure it will take you 1 hour do do and multiply that by your set hourly rate?

As I have been studying this business for a few years now (on and off) I came up with my own formula for this question...see if this sounds ok...

SQUARE FOOTAGE OF LAWN TO BE MOWED X 1.5% (don't ask how I came up with 1.5%, but it is a breakdown of my hourly rate/ overhead/ wear & tear on equipment and so on..)

Here's how it would work:

Property lawn area of 50' by 40' yields 2000 square feet of servicing area multiply by 1.5% = $30.00

Let me know what you think about this way of estimating...thanks!
  2. Hello Everybody:

It really depends on what equipment you are using? It takes so long to mow this with 21", so long with a 48" walk & only a few Minutes with a Dixie Chopper! Hey Eric might say a Few Seconds? Those Double Dudes will put a Hurtin on Ya!!!!!

One person can mow a 1,000 sq.ft. in so long & the next person with the same mower might take 3 to 5 minutes longer. Use your times & your figures.

Break it down & figure your different times mowing a 1,000 sq. ft. & then figure it from there, using various Equipment.

Once you have these figures, plus how long to edge say a linear 100 ft., Trim a linear 100 Ft., blow a 100 sq. ft. Whatever, then have a chart show various times. Then you can figure how much you want to make a hour?