1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

pricing for custom plowing (new to this)

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by Bgdsl, Nov 29, 2000.

1. Bgdsl

Bgdsl LawnSite Member

Hi there, I am new to plowing for my self. I have just baught a 92 F250 4x4 diesel with a 7.5 meyer plow. 1st is this a good plow? I have been told that meyer plows are not the "best" but not the worst.
    2end The farm I work for wants me to plow snow for them. they said they will give me fuel and $30 an hour to plow. I do not have insurance for plowing. but they said I will be covered under them. How much am I worth - I have plowed snow a good bit. but I am not a pro. Please tell me what I should be making. is $30 a fair price or should I demad more? I will be plowing a large hospital. and a few naborhoods. with other trucks. Thanks everyone for you help.
    Please let me know if I am missing any variables to fill you in on for my pricing.

Thanks Hugh
  2. Lazer

Lazer LawnSite Bronze Member

Welcome to the forum!

Is it a Meyer C-7.5 or a ST-7.5 (Big quadrant or small?)

Your hourly rate will depend on the average number of average hours plowed per winter. i.e. The less you plow, the higher your houly rate should be and vice-versa.

How many average events and number of inches do you get?
  3. John Allin

John Allin LawnSite Bronze Member

And, where are you located (generally) ??

4. BRL

BRL LawnSite Bronze Member

Aw man, someone finally filled out their profile correctly and John starts grilling him anyway ;) He's 45 minutes south of Philly so my guess would be rates would be a little higher than $30.00\hour based on having some experience plowing. Try talking to other plow contractors in your area to find out what the general going rates are.
  5. Lazer