1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Pricing for design work

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by bigjeeping, Feb 17, 2006.

1. bigjeeping

bigjeeping LawnSite Senior Member

How do you price for the actual designing of the landscaping?

I have 3 years of landscaping experience, but the landscaping I have done has been on the smaller, residential level, and they have always told me exactly what they've wanted.

Well I have 2 residential inquiries pending where the homeowner would like me to come up with designs/ideas..... how do you charge for this?
  2. tractrpowr45

tractrpowr45 LawnSite Member
    from NY

bigjeeping, adding to your question, I would like to know how do you know what trees/shrubs/perennials go together in a landscape design? Is it plant height, color, shape or a combination of all three? I'm just starting out this spring, so I need ideas as how to design a landscape plan for a client. Bigjeeping, I didn't mean to hijack your thread, just wanted to add to what you had already asked. Thankssporty
  3. bigjeeping

Well Like i said.. I haven't designed anything yet, I have only done what homeowners have asked me to do. So if they say x shrub and y perennial, that's what they get.
  4. Dreams To Designs

Dreams To Designs LawnSite Bronze Member