pricing for installing pasture fence-wood

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by CHF, Jan 27, 2008.

1. CHF

CHF LawnSite Member

Just wondering what the going rate for installing a board fence using locust posts and oak boards would be ? We are new to the message board and are a lawn maintenance company....have gotten some request to do some fencing and wondering if its worth getting involved with it. Thanks.

2. NWALAWNS

NWALAWNS LawnSite Member

I have been installing fences for about 5 years now, we charge between 4 and 5 dollars a LF to install fence. That is for labor only, add the price of materials to that to determine the price per LF. Depending on how much fence you are planning on installing, be careful if you don't have a bobcat or tractor with a auger for digging. With post and rail fences you are better off using longer boards that span 2 posts and stager the joints to add strength to the fence. Also use screws to fasten to all post, you can tack with a nail gun but the boards tend to twist just using nails if the owner does not seal the fence in a reasonable amount of time. You could also offer to seal the fence, we do that for about $2 LF for privacy so I would do a post a rail for about $1 LF with a good sealer like Ready-Seal or Wolman. They are easy to apply with a airless sprayer or pump up sprayer. Good luck.

3. DiyDave

DiyDave LawnSite Bronze Member