Pricing help needed badly

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mowingandmore, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Mowingandmore

Mowingandmore LawnSite Member

Hi every one. I am new to comercial accounts I do mainly residentila but I have a meeting coming up for the contract on 5 major apartment complexes in my area all as a package deal. over 200 acers total. How can I price them?

2. Sooners

Sooners LawnSite Member

Veryyyyy Carefullyyy. Actually, I bid a large tract last week. I gave them a one-time price and told them after I did it once, I'd give a firm price. Don't want to get burned again. It always takes longer than it looks initially.

3. allstar

allstar LawnSite Senior Member

I totally agree with Sooner because there's probably no way,at this point in your career,you can accurately bid a job that size.Whenever I tell a customer that I would need to do the job one time before giving them a firm quote they seem to understand.
    A big contract like this could be great for your business but if you underbid and enter into a contract with them,it could be bad news.Good luck!

4. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

I sure ain't gonna tell you what to bid but I will tell you that I would'nt touch it if I were you. Not to smash your enthusiasim but just realize that this may seem like a great opportunity but can easily drill you into the ground.
    If you contract and can't provide service you are done. If you contract this year and acquire the equipment to do the job it seems great. Until next year someone comes along who is lower in price than you. Guess where you and all that expensive equipment will be.
    There is a big difference in small residential to large commercial. Its low bid city unless your wife or mom owns the subdivision.
    Good Luck.

5. Norm Al

Norm Al LawnSite Bronze Member

200 times $18.50

6. DennisF

DennisF LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida