pricing home owner yards in atlanta ga

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by greengrower, Feb 19, 2007.

1. greengrower

greengrower LawnSite Member

In the metro Atlanta area most yards are small.Is there something to go by such as a scale to price yards or by the sq. ft? Also I intend to mow, blow and edge .I will use a walker ghs.
    I am new to this business and I want to stay within the price range.Can you help me on this thanks.

2. ScagBoy09

ScagBoy09 LawnSite Member

I personally eyeball it, I know thats not very helpful but thats me. I charge anything from $25 (about 1/4 acre) to $50. I think measuring the yard just to mow is too time consuming. To get an idea of what to charge, I had some local mowing businesses come out to my place and see how much they would charge to get an idea of the going rate. just my two cents.

3. Accu-cut Lawn Care

Accu-cut Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

Don't forget to guage your potential clients. If I see a yard that is worth $40 per cut...and the custmer comes outside with a cuban cigar in his mouth, a monacle, and a Lambo is in the garage...I might try and get $50.:usflag:

4. ScagBoy09

ScagBoy09 LawnSite Member

Yessiree...I have one guy who owns two BMW's and has one hell of a house. I was gonna charge around 20-25 but when he offered me to do it for 40, I never stopeed him...lol

5. Ga.GrassCutter

Ga.GrassCutter LawnSite Member

If i give a price, i don't back down, i'll walk away from it.

6. clallen03

clallen03 LawnSite Senior Member

I normally charge $45 for a 1/4 worth of turf here in Atlanta. I have a few for $50 but the market will bare anywhere from $35 to $55, depend on the customer.

Find out what you need to make to break even then add in your profit. It shouldn't take more then 30 min by yourself with that mower and some good hand held tools.

Its plenty of money out here for everyone, go get your share.

Good luck.
    Corrie A.:)

7. brucec32

brucec32 LawnSite Platinum Member