1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

pricing on 19 zones

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by evergreenedmond, Mar 10, 2006.

1. evergreenedmond

evergreenedmond LawnSite Senior Member

I've been in lawn maintenance & Landscaping for quite a while, but I'm just getting into irrigation Ive never done a job this big I was curious what would be a good price for an irrigation system with 19 zones, the water supply is off a well with a 3 horse pump a lot of it is open with 40' heads. Only 3-4 zones will be pop up heads. I hope this helps any feed back is appreciated.

2. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic

I'm not trying to be smarta$$ed with you but I'll tell you the same thing I tell my boss and the edukators up the food chain. I'll do a plot plan and design first and then I'll give you an estimate. But I deal with very large projects and sports fields most the time but I'm willing to bet one of the other guys will have a rough guess. I used to have by acreage guesstimates of fields versus around buildings but sometimes it would be off quite a bit due to unusual circumstances so I chucked it. :)

3. PurpHaze

Almost forgot a very important aspect of any estimate that some guys forget whether it's an irrigation, hardscape, landscape or other related installments. A lot depends on whether you own outright the major tools/equipment to do the job, are still paying on those tools/equipment or have to rent them. This is part of your overhead and must be taken into account. :dancing:

4. evergreenedmond

I've already got a plan together with a price that I think is good I've just never bid on an irrigation job of this size. smarta$$

5. evergreenedmond

I own all the equipment needed. I'm not that new to this business

6. PurpHaze