Pricing, Pricing, Pricing????

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by topchoice, Dec 29, 2006.

1. topchoice

topchoice LawnSite Member

Hello all! I am just finally starting my own business after almost 8 years of working in a local Park, Rec, and Forestry Department during the summer. I am a high school teacher by day and a new business owner by night, but I am having trouble with pricing. The area I am in has two drastic incomes...on one side I have clients who live in million dollar homes and have only 3/4 of an acre or less and then those who are your 'normal' income base who have anywhere from 1/4 to 1 acre of land. I can handle the 'normal' clients when it comes to pricing, but the more fortunate ones I am a little lost as to pricing. (I currently have to clients interested- just waiting for my proposal) I know there are other companies who are charging $65 or more per visit but they are major companies and I know of other individually owned companies who are charging anywhere from $35 to $55 dollars a visit. I want to be competitive but at the same time reasonable. Just want to hear some opinions from those more seasoned in their self-owned business. Thanks! :usflag:

2. ED'S LAWNCARE

ED'S LAWNCARE LawnSite Senior Member

price by the size, not the clients income.

3. DuraCutter

DuraCutter LawnSite Senior Member

Price according to how much you want to make. Then choose the clients that will give you that income. Most people on this site still don't believe that they are in charge of how much they make. You and only you can choose how much you make. You may have to lose some clients and you may have to do commercial. It just depends on if you want a lot of money or if you don't want a lot of money.

4. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Does the school you teach at charge different rates by income level??
    Why do you feel the need to cheat people according to income.