Pricing retaining walls

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by DanG, Jan 31, 2001.

1. DanG

DanG LawnSite Member

I've had a few people come up to me for doing block retaining walls on their propertys this year.

I've never done them before but if the price is right I might do these two to get the experience.

How do you guys price them out?

By the total Sq. footage or height etc..

Type of material etc..

What kind of hourly rate should i be getting since this is harder work then mowing.

I've got one friend of my wifes who wants to even out her flower beds since they tend to wash the mulch out whenever it rains.

Most likely it would be about two stones high on one end and 6-8 on the other. and about 100' total in lenght.

Also at another job one wall that needs to be removed and redone since it has buckled( 10 yr old wooded one)Most likely 10 blocks high and 150' long split into two sections

And the owner wants to have gravel put in and drainage behind them so the don't shift again.

Thanks,

Dan

2. Lanelle

Lanelle LawnSite Bronze Member

Check the links listed in the current Patio Pricing thread. This is the time of year that many suppliers offer training seminars. From the sounds of the size of these walls, you should definitely get some training before starting. Also, in some areas, these size walls would require a building permit. There is a little more to this than meets the eye. But it is something that can be accomplished at a profit.

3. EarthTech Landscapes

EarthTech Landscapes Guest

I usually charge for a smaller wall between 20 to 22 dollars a square foot, This covers labor, materials, and backfill material. on larger commercial jobs I usually bid it by the job.

4. Stonehenge

Stonehenge LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Midwest

You're right - it is harder work than mowing. Much more required in technical skills, as well.