Pricing rock install

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by TJLC, Jun 24, 2001.

1. TJLC

TJLC LawnSite Bronze Member

I tried searching but really didn't find what I was looking for, so here goes. I have a landscape job comming up installing white rock. I have never done this before. I have done mulch a few times. My question is: how do you generally price installing rock vs mulch? Is it by the yard or by the hour, or what? I know different areas of the country will vary but a general idea would help. I think it will take 14 yds of rock (from what I measured). Rock seems like a LOT more work than mulch, so I would assume the labor would be higher?. Also do you lay fabric first, then plants or visa versa? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I tried talking her into mulch, but she wants white rock. Thanks again.
  2. SCL

SCL LawnSite Senior Member

Wow white rock huh? Aren't any pink flamingos or painted tires I hope? I'm sorry couldn't help myself. Price it as a job. You know what the price of the rock is now add your markup. Figure how long it will take you or you and a helper or you and a crew... and add your labor to the stone for a total. If they want it broke downdivide the toal by the yardage and tell them its $xx a yard installed. Hopefully your getting a discount on the rock and the markup is none of their business. I'm guessining somewhere around 16 -17 man hours to install. That ought to spark some conversation.:)
  3. eskals

eskals LawnSite Member

What Scl said...Just to add a bit more, if you have done a mulch job, then you probably have a feel for how long it will take to do it with mulch. There is your starting point. How much longer and harder it will be do use stone is hard to figure, but at least you have a starting point. Maybe its woth it to you to price the labor portion at 2x the labor of mulch, maybe more, maybe less.