Pricing?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by lampeslawnservice, Mar 30, 2005.

1. lampeslawnservice

lampeslawnservice LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year of having my license and I got a call from a neighbor saying he's tired of Trugroan calling him and they don't even do that much. So went to give him an estimate took allong my yardage pro and figured out square footage about 32500 square ft. I asked him at one point in our conversation what does trugroan charge you per app. His reply to much my asstonishment was $39. I laughed and sayed your not serious are you? He said yes, I have dealt with him before and nice honest upfront man. He said he figured my estimate would raise him a little bit. I callled him back and told him I can't even come close to that for Fert alone. Told him to keep giving trugroan the job so they will lose money. What so you think am I way off base. Crabgrass preventer alone COSTS me 53.06 for 32500. Thats no profit just cost am I off base or do I need to find a different supplier? Thanks jason

2. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 LawnSite Platinum Member

You need to find a different supplier.

Dimension @ Lesco, 3 bags / 36k would cost me $30, and I know there are guys on here getting it cheaper than that. For straight fertilizer, you're looking at about $20.

Even at that, you're going to have to raise him to $50 - $60 / app to start to think about it being worth your while.

3. marko

marko LawnSite Senior Member