Pricing

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Greengo, Jun 13, 2006.

1. Greengo

Greengo LawnSite Member

hey guys and girls, i am new to the business and new to the site. i have started a very small lawn service. i am working alone. i am wondering what the going rate is in atlanta for a 1.5hr yard. i have 6 yards that i am mowing and the time it takes to mow, trim, edge and blow is 1-2 hrs per. i am getting $35 to $50 depending on what is involved. is this reasonable for a 1.5hr job.

2. Mrk'sLawn

Mrk'sLawn LawnSite Member

If you are taking $35.00 for a 2 hr job your only making 17.50 an hr. Plus, your leaving out the details about your lawns. If you provide some more info about your properties people on this site can better answer your questions. IMO, $17.50 to mow, trim and edge is very low. But, I'm in a different part of the country. For me a 2 hr job to mow trim and edge I would charge at least $160.00 I can mow and trim about an acre a hr. The lowest price I charge for an acre is $80 and for that it has to be very flat with not many obstacles.. If the job only took you 1/2 hr I would say 35.00 would be OK.. JMO.. Good luck with your business. I wish you much success!!:)

3. DuraCutter

DuraCutter LawnSite Senior Member

It's an ok price if you had all the equipment, insurance and other related costs paid by that customer.

As far as I can see, you'd make more money working for someone else at that rate. Think about it, every hour you're working at a low rate is an hour you can never get back. It's gone forever and so is your chance to make real money.

Try to work with a rate of about $100/hr. That may sound hard, but if you find the right jobs, it's possible. A lot of Lco's don't bother or have a hard time finding their niche, the profitable jobs. Sometimes, you can do lawncare to get to the profitable hard landscape jobs. The lawncare gets you in the door and I myself consider it a loss leader most of the time.