Pricing?

Discussion in 'Florida Lawn Care Forum' started by Dr. Cornwallis, Aug 9, 2014.

1. Dr. Cornwallis

Dr. Cornwallis LawnSite Senior Member

As some may know, I ran a lawncare business about seven years ago for a few years until I went into the military. I didn't know nearly what I know now and I think my pricing may have been off then. I'm currently a solo operator and I charge $50 an hour. I target high end residential properties, mostly between 1/2 and 3 acres. All my equipment is commercial Shindaiwa and my mower is a new Pro Turn 148.

What I would like to know is, is my pricing fair or am I too high? Last week I got a call to go quote a one acre irrigated St Augustine lot with lots of trimming, edging and surfaces to blow. There were also tons of shrubs and other ornamental landscaping that would need trimming. The home that sat on the property is estimated at $460,000 fwiw.

I bid $80/cut for mow/edge/trim/blow with an additional $30 a month for weed control in the beds and $150 to trim the landscaping at the owners discretion. The guy sounded a little thrown off over the phone and said he would get back to me, which I've learned means no.

I know it's hard to say without actually seeing the property but is $80 a cut fairly inline with what le normal for high quality basic maintenance on a one acre lot? I know a guy with a sixty could do it quicker than my 48 but I wouldn't think THAT much quicker. I have another one acre lot I do that I charge $55 a cut for which is basically the same deal and I feel I way under bid it. It takes me between 1.5 and 1.75 hours to complete so I based my estimate on this property off what I'm currently doing.

Any help is really appreciated! Don't want to be the low baller on the block.
    Posted via Mobile Device

2. southerntide

southerntide LawnSite Gold Member
    Male, from Alabama