1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by indian, Jun 18, 2002.

1. indian

indian LawnSite Member

I am new to this forum. I am a teacher/coach full time and do not anticipate giving up this job. I love working on my own yard and am thinking about quitting coaching and getting into the business part time, alone, and then maybe eventually having a small crew once I have established the business. I will start slow and only take jobs that I think that I can handle. My main question is, what kind of profit can I reasonbly expect to have by my self and evenually with a one small crew. I am trying to decide if I can possibly make more money doing this than coaching(coach's don't get paid much for the number of hours that we put in). I will appreciate all responses and insights into helping me with my decision. Thanks .
  2. Ajays

Ajays LawnSite Member

You can expect to make an average of at least $30 per cut per client so with 30 to 40 weekly clients you can expect to earn $1000/week just mowing.(all residentials) Insurance is relatively cheap for a new company maybey $500/year and expect to pay about $50 in gas each week depending on driving time. By yourself with a good mower, 10 residentials per day is a good estimated average. Getting the client base built up and being able to handle the odd jobs+ the mowing is the key.

MATTHEW LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE OHIO

It will vary with your market.

Do a search on the word "solo" and you will find a wealth of information.

For a quick answer, one guy, one truck, 1 walk behind and a 21"?
    If you can keep the equipment at your house, your basic expenses will be cost of equipment + insurance + taxes +gas,oil,parts,ect.

A basic dollar amount per hour might range from $30-$50 per hr.