Profits?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by lawnboy51, Jan 21, 2004.

1. lawnboy51

lawnboy51 LawnSite Member

Ok, heres the deal. I've been thinking about starting out part time this spring. But I want to make sure it'll be worth my while. I have a business degree, and I did lawn maintenance and landscaping from the ages 12-22. I'm 32 now and I was in computers but kept getting laid off. I work for a mortgage company now but itÂ’s very slow and I'm not making what I'm used to. I'd like to start out small and grow. I think I have all the right equipment to start out, I need your input.

Everything is 2003
    Exmark 48" WB
    21" Toro
    Stihl Hand Blower
    Stihl Weedwacker
    Stihl Stick Edger
    Assorted hand tools, rakes shovels, etc.
    +
    1999 Dodge Ram 1500 4X2 V8 (Bought it in Oct. for 12k only had 4,400 miles on it!)
    Still need a trailer.

Everything is paid for accept for the Truck.

I bought everything with the thought of going into business but if I don't, I will just have nice stuff to do my yard with.

How many clients should I shoot for my first year if I'm only doing it part time? 10-15 sound right? I only have to be in the office from 10-5 m-f. So I'll have some time. I plan to start out doing the basics, mowing, edging, wacking, and maybe some mulch now and then. But I would like to plan for growth.

With most of my stuff being paid for, do you think I'll turn a profit?

And lastly, how much should I budget for marketing? Any thoughts?

Thanks a lot, great board!

2. DAZED AND CONFUSED

DAZED AND CONFUSED LawnSite Member

1st thing to do is to get a buisness permit to work out of your house where i live it was a $10 fee

2nd. you need insurance $300,000 will prob be sufficent at first at this rate monthly premiums are low if i rem correctly aprox $90 per month

insurance is a must if you own your own house now you wont when you get sued with no insurance.