1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Proof of Service in case of legal or payment problems - Solo Operator

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by elamey, Apr 22, 2005.

1. elamey

elamey LawnSite Member

Hey group...I'm a solo operator and a bit of a newb... I started mowing lawns over 20 years ago, mostly for little old ladies in my neighborhood, I started when I was a kid, but now have a more commercial/professional, albiet solo, operation and the world is a different place than in 1986

My question is one of proof of service. How do you guys handle proving you've mown a lawn if a problem arises and you have to send an account to collections or put a mechanics lean on the property? Fortunately it's not come up yet, but in todays world what do I need to be doing in case a problem arises?

Since i'm the only one out there, do I put my digital camera on a tripod with my mower and the serviced property in the background holding a newspaper with todays date? Sounds like overkill but is it? When/if a legal issue comes up is this the level of security I need?

Let me know what you've experienced please
  2. LawnMower

LawnMower LawnSite Senior Member

Iv had that problem a few times. In fact I had one lady that pulled that on me last summer as well as the summer before. I wont be taking care of her lawn this year. But I now have an established customer base, and I'm usually there mowing the same day every week. I would consider getting rid of customers that have trust issues with you. If you said you were there, then you were there. Your not going to lie to your customers.

I also use quick books and each customer gets a statement ones a month with the exact date the I was there.

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member