Proslide or Tru Trak

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by NHLawns, Mar 21, 2002.

1. NHLawns

NHLawns LawnSite Member
    from NH

I have read alot of other posts about the Proslide, and I am leaning towards getting one. BUT I have heard the new Toro tru track is good also. I have a 44" Toro belt drive W|B with a 12.5 Kawi on it, and I weigh about 170. I am looking at buying one of these pretty soon, and just not sure which one to go with.
    I need a little push to help me decide.

Thanks for any input

Jim

2. AK Lawn

AK Lawn LawnSite Member

I have no personal experience with either but for some reason i really like the por-slide, and am going to purchase one, does anyone know if it helps with striping? But i have also heard good things about the tur-trac as well, i believe these are both safer than a conventional velke because they don't pervet so you can break your ankles, a company in my town got sued very bad by an employee that broke his ankle on a velke.
    Good Luck

3. samk

samk LawnSite Member

i have the tru trak and love it . i have never used the proslide so can not comment

4. dlandscaping

dlandscaping LawnSite Senior Member
    from mass

Your toro 44 with the 12.5 kawi is not a new model correct? In order to use the tru trak, my dealer said it had to be the newer type machine with the vertical deck height adjustment like on exmark and scag floating decks. I would ask your toro deal if it could be modified in order to put a tru trak on. If you run doubles and a sulky with that engine, you will probably burn it out soon.

5. ProMo

ProMo LawnSite Bronze Member

i have a proslide got to replace the plastic piece again my old trailer was eaitin it up.I love the thing but im walking till i get new plate for it it stripes real good and i ride right over curbs sprinklers etc with no problem plus can step off and walk on hills

6. AK Lawn

AK Lawn LawnSite Member