Pruning trees

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by lawnkid, Feb 28, 2002.

1. lawnkid

lawnkid LawnSite Senior Member

I don't currently provide pruning services but on of my customers asked if I could trim one of her trees. I was wondering since I've never done this before how far down the branch to trim it. I plan on using a hand saw because I don't own a chain saw or pruning saw. Try to give me your best input on what to do?

2. PAPS

PAPS LawnSite Senior Member

It all depends on what type of tree and what your trying to accomplish by pruning the tree...When our tree guys prune, they prune the limbs right to the trunk of the tree. Sometimes clients don't want to lose the whole limb and may just ask for it to be cut back. Again, it all depends... but generally, the limb should be pruned pretty much right to the trunk of the tree.

3. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

This is a pretty open ended question and without know what kind of tree you are talking about, how large it is, etc. it's difficult to answer. But I'll try.

First of all, most large tree pruning should be left to professional Arborists. But we landscapers and maintenance guys can safely do some light pruning to the bottom parts of trees. There are a few concepts that are important to be familiar with when pruning trees;

Raising the crown; this is when you lop off all of the lower branches or the lowest "ring" of branches to create room under the tree. This is done sometimes because the tree branches are starting to invade the lawn. Other times because people want to be able to walk underneath the tree (e.g. when it's by a sidewalk), etc. When you raise the crown you lop the limbs off at the trunk but typically just the lower ring of limbs. Be careful not to do this on too small of a tree or it will look awkward.