pssssst................................... here comes the new guy.......

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by cupzandamug, Mar 28, 2007.

1. cupzandamug

cupzandamug LawnSite Member

quick question..............

im just starting out and i have 0 clients,yup 0. i was thinking that i should pass out about 3-4 hundred or so flyers and maybe spring 4 a ad in 1 of the smaller weekly papers.i wanted to know if this worked 4 anybody when thet started and when business does pick up, how many clients should i have. im the sole proprietor, so i kind of wanted to stay away from the huge yards, thx

2. lowballer17

lowballer17 LawnSite Member

Ad in local paper maybe.

3. AbsoluteH&L

AbsoluteH&L LawnSite Member

Make that number in the thousands then it will be more worth while. Really search fliers, you will find people that do 30-40k of them. I do 1- 3k fliers a year. A couple hundred you can pass out in less than a day. Yes ads in the small Adnet papers, penny saver, whatever small paper you have seem to work good. Never rely on only one type of advertising. I'm in the book, small papers, and I flier. You can also do direct mail, I don't see great results with it though.

4. TNT LawnCare Inc.

TNT LawnCare Inc. LawnSite Bronze Member

Where in MARLAND are you ! TNT

5. chrisludwig

chrisludwig LawnSite Member

Direct mail results are usually 1-3% of mailing. So out of 100 sent out you may get 3 customers. If you personalized the postcard or mailing with the peoples names in the picture or on the house picture, etc the numbers go up to 10-12% results. So you would possibly get 10-12 new customers per 100 mailed. (This is my full time job - I do lawns part time as I grow my empire)
    Postcards are better than mailing letters in envelopes. Postcards are cheaper to mail, dont have to be opened and you can put a nice color picture on there to draw their attention and have them think "I wish my lawn looked like that."