pull plows,are they worth it?

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by lawnjocky, Aug 21, 2000.

1. lawnjocky

lawnjocky LawnSite Member

I've been using strait blades (meyers with wings) for several years with good success but I'm always looking to improve my speed and quality of service (make more money).

The accounts I think I would pull the most would be residential drives, most of my commercial are strait pushes.For the average drive I spend 5-10 min. plowing and stacking.The first 25' or so never looks to sharp by backdragging with a front plow but it works.

As I see it a pull plow would do the following:
    plus side-
    1.better finish
    2.save 2-5 min time
    minus side-
    1.extra lenth on truck,more liability
    2.more weight on truck,accelerated wear (I already counterbalance).

Is an additional $3000.00 investment per truck (with an average of 3 plows per season) worth the time savings I invision? While I have no first hand knowledge since no one else uses pull plows in my market at this time, I can't help but think it would be a bad investment.

With all that said, I would like opinions on my logic and comments from people who are using pull plows to be certain I'm not overlooking a means for more business and profits.

2. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

For your application.

I have one word, YES.

You will find that on short residential drives, you will only use your regular plow to stack snow at the end of the drive. Because the pull plow can do most of the work.

Geoff

3. plowking35

plowking35 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S.E. CT

Spend three hundred on a urethane edge that mounts on front plow, and save $ 2700.00. It will work just about as well as a pull plow and less liability.
    Dino

4. slplow

slplow LawnSite Senior Member