1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

pulling pipe and wire

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by MOlawnman, Mar 21, 2003.

1. MOlawnman

MOlawnman LawnSite Member

would like some advice....

I just purchased a plow for installs (used to trench everything in). How do you get the control wire in with the main? This may sound like a stupid question, but I am new to pulling pipe and thought maybe someone here could give me a heads up on the subject.

2. HBFOXJr

HBFOXJr LawnSite Bronze Member

Just lay the wire along the pipe and wrap with a few layers of duct tape and stuff into the grip. This pic does not have the wire but it is what we use.

NOTE: the "bullet" is larger than the pipe meaning little to no abrasion as it is pulled in. If you don't have this type, get it. The tip of the grip, pipe and wire are up inside the "bullet" and are protected.

pull blade web pic.jpg
  3. greenworldh20

greenworldh20 LawnSite Senior Member

installing wire this way may damage the wire. i am not going into specifics, but there is a great change of shortening the life of the wire by 'stretching' it.

try pulling a seperate conduit (3/4' pipe) for irrigation wire. this will allow better protection for wire, faster installation, less chance wire will be broken...

many advantages to conduits for wire.

hell, if you are concerned about the price, then charge for it.

wire in conduit, upsell, upsell, upsell....

that is the key to making $$$
  4. HBFOXJr

Brian, how many miles of wire have I installed by pulling since 1971?

Your comments have been made by others before but there is no substantiation. Our tunnel is always enough bigger than the pipe and wire so that the wire is never jammed against the tunnel wall.

I've NEVER had a piece of bad wire.
  5. MOlawnman

MOlawnman LawnSite Member