Purchansing a LCO

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dgarfied74, Feb 18, 2008.

1. dgarfied74

dgarfied74 LawnSite Member

I am new to the business, and had a goal of starting in the Spring of 09', doing my research and writting my business plan over the next 12-14 months. I have happened on an opportunity to purchase an existing LCO for $20K. This price includes a 60" Zmaster with a bagging system, 54" Ransome walk behind, 48" Scag wb, 36" gravely wb, Bluebird power rake, Leaf vac chipper, 2 commercial weed whips, 2 commercial edgers, 2 Redmax 7100 blowers, spreader, 12X6.5 trailer with racks, fliers, signs, and array of misc items. Also, the business comes with a customer list of 137 accounts within a 5 mile radius. It is a complete turn key with owner support and training.

If anyone could give me some advise it would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

2. newtostone

newtostone LawnSite Senior Member
    from NY

if those customers are paying a good rate thats gold. find out how long and how often hose customers are serviced how long has the current guy had them and do they hold a transferable contract? if so run with it cause around my neck of the woods 137 customers would be some $.

3. BUCKEYE MOWING

BUCKEYE MOWING LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree ....check all the details and ask to see the contracts.

4. larryinalabama

larryinalabama LawnSite Fanatic

Ask the feller if you can ride with him a couple of days. If the rates are fair I think its a great deal. Be sure he is moving of will not go back into landscaping in your state

5. Gaturf

Gaturf LawnSite Member