1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

purchasing decisions? can you help?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by KBW, Feb 16, 2003.

1. KBW

KBW LawnSite Member

I am just getting started in the biz. Over the last few days I have spent several hours on this web site soaking up a lot of information about mowers(size 36 or 48,gear vs hydro, float vs fixed, exmark vs gravely vs skagg, vs lesco etc.) blowers and trimmers. I feel llike I have been on a landscape roller coaster. After a lot of reading on this site I have decided to go with a 48" walk-behind. I have aprox $3,200 to start up with. With that $3,200 I was hoping to get a mower, trimmer, and blower. I already have a truck, trailer, and a 21" . The closest dealer to me, with a good reputation for service is a Gravely dealer. Some of the threads I have read on the gravely gear drive w/b (2002) are a little concerning, however, I have heard many good things too.

I can get a 2003 48" fixed deck gear drive for $2,450. That mower has a 15 hp Kaw, pistol grip , and recoil start.

Another gravely choice is a 2002 48" gear w/ a floating deck, elect start w/17hp Kaw. w/pistol for aprox $2,650, however, that mower is a demo unit with 102 hours on it. It is very clean, looks new.

Am I better off getting the new 2003 w/a fixed deck and saving a couple hundred $$ OR should I get the more equipt 2002 demo w/102 hours on it that has a floating deck and extra 2hp??? or do I avoid gravely altogether? Again I will be doing this part time 10-13 lawns. Some of my lawns are a little hilly , nothing that bad though.

I don't mind spending more for the demo if it's the better choice.