QB question

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by BLC1, Mar 19, 2008.

1. BLC1

BLC1 LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

I am new to Quickbooks, I just want to put my gas receipt in that I got today. I have watched all the videos but still cant figure out how to add a simple expense.

2. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

What financial accounts do you have established, such as bank, petty cash, etc?

Choose one of those where the charges are to be put against, open the register. On the last line, enter the date, place of purchase (if you don't already have a list, it will ask if you wish to make a "quick add"), the expense account to be charged, a "memo" for a description of the item/service, and the amount. If you do not have your expense accounts established, then make a hierarchy of accounts. For example, one category might be Maintenance & Repair. Under this, might be several listings, one for each piece of equipment. You have to make a decision on how refined you wish to be in your record keeping. When you make reports, your reports can be broken down with the same refinement you have established your hierarchy in the lists.

That's a start. You will have more questions.

3. BLC1

from Ohio

Heres another for ya. I like to enter the expenses everyday to stay on top of it. What should I do about the things I use credit for. I still like to take the receipt and enter it to stay current but that will keep my bank statement out of whack.

4. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

Set up (chart of accounts) an entry for each credit card. When you make a charge against that card, use that account as the basis for your entry (e.g. select the cc account from the list in the Register). Scroll to the bottom, and do just as described above for a cash account.