Qeustions from a new guy.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by gmanlq, Jan 31, 2008.

1. gmanlq

gmanlq LawnSite Member

Hi all,

Need your thoughts. A little background first since I'm new in a way. Love all the posts...they've been very helpful.

I used to cut 40 lawns a week in high school and college with eletric trimmer, blower and a 21" mower.

I'm looking into buying a 36in. Metro from Exmark. I have 10 customers from last season, which I started late in July. Hope to pass out flyers and have 40 lined up by May 1st...don't know if it can be done but I'm going to try.

Last season I was using a 21in. Craftsman mower. Did buy a BR420 Stihl blower and the Stihl KM55 (combi unit with edger, trimmer, and adjustable hedger attachemnts)...hoping it will make it though another season or two. In the next month or so I'm going to buy a 6' x 12' enclosed trailer to haul my stuff around and advertise. The new trailer looks like it will be in the $3000 range.

All of my customers are residential with 1/2 acre lots or smaller. My biggest yard would take me about 1.5 hours to cut, edge, blow (no bagging) the bermuda grass. I'm thinking of buying the 36" Metro from Exmark and adding the bagger and sulkie so I can ride it. Need to be able to get through the gates in my customers yards so I can't go bigger. Perhaps next year I'll get a bigger one. I'd love to get a hydro but can't afford the $5500+ price this season...again maybe next season. I have to make money at this ($50K this season would be nice) or my wife is going to ax it all and then I end up working for some corporation which I detest. I'd like to know what you guys make per year for a one man show only without crew help? Would help ease the wife's jitters if she sees others making money at this without a crew.