1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Quarterly Tax Payments ...

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Richard Martin, Mar 26, 2002.

1. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

When Do You Make Them?

Although you are supposed to make the payments every 3 months when do you actually make the payments?

Since I don't really make any money in the first 3 months of the year I wait until around June to make the first one and then make the other three in the next three months. I have been doing this for a few years now and I haven't heard anything from the IRS or been penalized for making late payments.

I realize this should be in the Business Forum but I wanted to get maximum feedback and a lot of people never look in the Business Forum.
  2. osc

osc LawnSite Senior Member

You should have a coupon booklet that tells you when to mail in the payments for estimated federal income tax. If you get an audit you will pay a penalty for missing that first payment even if you catch up later in the year. State est. income tax is done the same way. An accountant can set you up with everything you need and do your yearly taxes for around $350.00 or less depending on if Inc. or sole pro. They can also save you money with early tax planning. My yearly accountant fees are between $1,200 and $1,500 which sounds like a bundle but she is worth every penny as mine are very complicated.
  3. Jerrys Lawn Service

Jerrys Lawn Service LawnSite Member

Richard, all payments are to be postmarked by 3/15, 6/15, 9/15,
    1/15. We also do the same as your doing unless we make a good bit in snow removal then we'll claim that money, other than that we wait till 2nd quarter is up then make a payment.

4. My sister in law is our cpa and she makes sure we get the estimated taxes in on time every quarter.