Question about advertising - post card mailers

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by bwilder10h, Mar 6, 2008.

1. bwilder10h

bwilder10h LawnSite Member

I have been mowing on the side for 4 years. I worked full time and did a few accounts here or there but I lost my full time gig last August and the IT world is ugly right now. I'm considering trying to ramp up the lawn care thing and just go at it full force (not too many other options at this point anyway :rolleyes: )

The past two years I ran a small ad in the yellow pages that cost me $1000 a year but got me very little business. There is now a company in this area that sends out a packet of nice glossy postcard advertisements for local businesses and mails them to 50,000 homes in the areas I target, in a certain income level and above, to the tune of $2500 ;) Not a bad deal if you consider what postage would cost if I did it myself but given my income has been nil, I'm reluctant to drop that kind of coin but if it brought in the business... it would obviously be worth it.

Any of you done this kind of thing in the past? I'd love to hear what kind of success you had with it.

Would my advertising dollars be better spent elsewhere?
  2. Howard Roark

Howard Roark LawnSite Senior Member
    from Texas

I would totally go for it bro. No loss, no gain.

Be like the big boys, and step up.
  3. qualitylandscaping

qualitylandscaping LawnSite Bronze Member

Seems almost to good to be true.. Check references from the company...
  4. bigw

bigw LawnSite Bronze Member

Seriously if you can send out 50,000 post cards for $2,500 i would do it 3x over for that price. That dont even sound right,you might want to check into that again.Is this one add in a paper that goes to 50,000 house's if so that would make more sense because the post cards aint happening!
  5. qualitylandscaping

qualitylandscaping LawnSite Bronze Member