Question about flakey customer

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Shaun13, May 1, 2008.

1. Shaun13

Shaun13 LawnSite Member

So this is my first year part time and everything is going well. The only thing is I've got this one customer who said he was going to sign up for regular bi weekly service and after the first cut(which by the way was entirely over grown and I filled 15+ 60gallon trash bags with clippings) said he wanted to wait a while for the next cut. I told him at the time that we couldn't wait too long because we'd be in the same situation with the grass being way too tall. Just fyi it took me 2 weeks to collect payment with multiple phone calls and bs to finally get paid. Major pain in the a**. I get a text message?? from him yesterday asking if i could fit him in this week. I know that I don't want this guy as a customer but I don't know how to handle the situation where I don't come out with a bad name for my company. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. cgaengineer

cgaengineer LawnSite Fanatic

Tell him your schedule and stick to it. Tell him its every two weeks and if you show up and only have to cut either front or back give him a little bit off.

3. KGR landscapeing

KGR landscapeing LawnSite Bronze Member

a huge jug of non slective herbicide and fix the problem for him

4. lawnboy858

lawnboy858 LawnSite Senior Member

Tell him if he doesn't want to stick to a bi-weekly schedule you won't provide service.

If he wants to wait longer, charge accordingly.

5. j05h22

j05h22 LawnSite Member