Question about standers...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LedgedaleLawn, Feb 12, 2008.

1. LedgedaleLawn

LedgedaleLawn LawnSite Senior Member

Are standers good on hills. 80% of our clients have sand mounds and hills are a big problem for us. We currently use eXmark walk behinds. But I was wondering about standers.

2. LedgedaleLawn

Anyone ???

3. farmboy1285

farmboy1285 LawnSite Senior Member

I am no expert on standers but I can tell you that standers generally are not as good on hills as walkbehinds. For me I can mow all of my yards with slopes with my great dane surfer, while the slopes I mow are pretty steep only 20% of the yards I mow have a steep slope then again I do live in kansas. My surfer does great on the flat and going straight up slopes but I cant back up a slope or make a turn on a slope to save my life with that mower. Maybe the Wrights are different. If as you say 80% of your yards have slopes and slopes are a problem then I personally would stick with large walkbehinds. This is just my 2 cents hopefully others will have some input.

4. olde_blue

olde_blue LawnSite Senior Member

I have a 36" fixed deck Wright Stander and a 36" Honda walkbehind. The Wrights (especially the fixed decks) have a better weight balance than the competition--that is why they need the anti-tip wheels behind the operator.
    Once you learn how to shift your weight to optimize the Stander's handling, you can mow fairly steep hills--but not as steep of hills as a walk behind. The Wright has about as good of traction as the walkbehind, but you need to have your feet planted on the turf and your arms pushing the handle to keep the mower in line when it slips on a really steep hill. An extra 50 lbs. of force on the handle of a 500 lbs mower is enough to prevent a disaster.