Question for Irrigation pros

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by ZX12R, Sep 28, 2005.

1. ZX12R

ZX12R LawnSite Senior Member

I am a landscaper and do NOT provide irrigation installs,however,I am going to do one for my house later in the fall.I have done much reading,including the tutorials reccomended by some of you here.Everyone seems to agree that bigger is better when it comes to water and main lines,so,heres my question? By the way,I have 55 pounds of pressure and 9 GPM flowing thru 3/4" line. I was thinking of installing a 1 1/2" main line with 1" lines going to each zone? There will be 6 zones. Your opinions will be helpful ,so,thanks in advance!

2. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic

Regardless what size lines you put in after your POC (point of connection) you will only get the 9 GPM that the 3/4" pipe is supplying. Keep all zones at/under 9 GPM and you should be fine. What the increasing of the main and laterals will do is reduce friction in the pipes which ultimately reduces your pressure at the sprinkler heads. Personally I wouldn't size the main/laterals any bigger than 1" (unless you have a very long run) because you really won't gain much other than higher price of pipe and fittings.

:cool2:

3. sildoc

sildoc LawnSite Silver Member

What size lot? What are you going to be covering as in using sprays or rotors?
    Where is your pressure coming from? well, city water at House spigot, off main?
    If you are coming off a city main with a 5/8" meter then I see no need to go with 1 1/2" mainline for sprinkler. Use 1" main and 1" lat. all 6 zones. until I can see schematic with elevation rise or drop I would be guessing in the wind.

4. sildoc

sildoc LawnSite Silver Member

I hardly ever see a 1 1/2 main for residental use unless it is acre/s usually 1".
    Rereading your post I would probably just stick with strait 1" period. Make it easy on yourself.

5. ZX12R