1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

question for solo operators.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnwizards, Apr 14, 2008.

1. lawnwizards

lawnwizards LawnSite Silver Member

this is my first year going solo. figured out i could make more money this way with the amount of customers i have. anyway, it seems if i work 6 hours and under, i'm good to go all day. but if i exceed 6 hours my dph dip because i get tired and cant work as fast. my question is, does this go away when i get used to working by myself or is this something i should just expect? thanks for replies.

2. larryinalabama

larryinalabama LawnSite Fanatic

I work a ful time job and usually work an additional 2-6 hours per day after I get off. 6 hours a day is unrealistic.
  3. ALC-GregH

ALC-GregH LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

I have the same concerns as well. I'm older and if I work hard for 8+hrs, I'm ragged out. I did this for a while though and did notice over time I could go longer when I wanted. It's the long break in between that gets me. Once I get started again, I'm ragged again for weeks to get myself back up to speed.
  4. tamadrummer

tamadrummer LawnSite Bronze Member

The season hasn't even gotten into full swing yet. 6 hours is a super short day! It would be a good idea to start working as many hours as you can now before the heat of the summer and the rains begin. Once that happens and the grass is up to your eyeballs everyday along with all of the extras you won't be home for 10+ hours a day.