Question for the experienced

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by chimmygew, Sep 29, 2004.

1. chimmygew

chimmygew LawnSite Senior Member

OK, I sprayed a yard 2 1/2 weeks ago with MSMA to take care of this guys crabgrass (about 35-40% of his yard). About 6500 sq. ft. total is his property. Before I did it, I put down 29-3-4 fertilizer with iron. This was on Tuesday an it was supposed to rain on Thursday for 2 days. It didn't and hasn't rained for 3 weeks now. He has a lot of turf burn. I sprayed as directed on the label. My question to you guys is, is there anything I can do to reverse this? I have my license and this is my first year spraying. I did tell him to wait till spring and he wanted it done. Any advice is very much appreciated.

2. what was the air temp when you made the treatment, and what was the high temp for that day?

3. chimmygew

About 75 during app. Hi was 80.

4. Well,

The burn damage probably wont come back. If its possible, can you put up some pics?

Does this lawn have any irrigation, was the lawn feeling any drought stress when you made the application? How many treatments have you performed on this lawn, so far this year. If you seed this guys lawn, will he make the effort to keep it watered, and take care of his seedlings?

The label should say how soon you can seed after a treatment, I would get ready to do that.

As far as waiting until spring, well it depends on the weather but we are quickly running out of growing time. Things are getting chilly at night up here in Michigan...

5. kickin sum grass

kickin sum grass LawnSite Senior Member

applying the fertilizer was a good thing but not making sure of getting water is a bad one. I always warn of potential burn. If it is dry I tell the customer to water deep the day before and then water the next day as well.

I know this is after the fact but a better choice might have been drive 75 with MSO. Maybe this is a thought for next time.

6. MOW ED