question on commercial billing

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by GarPA, Apr 26, 2002.

1. GarPA

GarPA LawnSite Silver Member
    from PA

just landed 2 (same owner) nice commercial of 6 acres....wide open, almost no trimming, clean up, corner properties with high obviously good for my business visibility..owner is a great guy...I know him personally...even so being a small operator I dont like working for a month and then waiting 2 more weeks for payment. Do many of you bill accounts up front? thats the way I'm leaning on this one..we all handle receivables in different ways so I'd appreciate your point of view...thanks much
  2. Even my residential accounts don't pay in two weeks.

This guy's doing you a favor expediting your pay so quick.

Some of mine are 90 days. But what do I care, it's all spent by the time I see it anyway.:D

If you want business accounts, you have to operate in a business like fashion. That means giving them time to do their business. Most businesses try to have their accounts paid in 30 days from the time they receive the bill.
    So when I send the bill for the mowing done in the month of May, they receive it in June. If they issue a check in July, that's 30 days (to them).

If they owe you $1,000 for a couple of months, you're talking about ten bucks in interest charges.
    People are loaning me money at less than 6%, so I figure the cost of money at about 1/2% per month.
    It's not really worth hasseling them over. Or loosing the account over.

3. Tim Baden

Tim Baden LawnSite Member

I used to mow a Wallgreens there billing was 45-60 days.Like Dave said he is doing you a big favor.
    And to mow 6 acers wide open you got it made,the last thing I would worry about is waitng 2 weeks.
  4. bruces

bruces LawnSite Senior Member

Seems that we have the ability to negotiate terms on each account we sign up. If the customer will agree to prepay, great, same with billing every 2 weeks, etc.