Question on commercial pricing?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by unique lawns, Jan 11, 2001.

1. unique lawns

unique lawns LawnSite Member

I'm 27 years old and owner of UNIQUE LAWNS of South Florida.
    I have been serving residential properties for the last 5 years and I worked in US Lawns for 3 years as the tree crew leader,so I know the industry quite well, I decided to go commercial last year after I got my arborist certification, but my only problem is not knowing how to bid on commercial properties.I provide all the services that are needed in the landscape. I was told that by the square foot is the best way to do it. If so do you guys have an idea of what the square foot goes for in the South Fl. region? I would really appreciate your help. thanks,Oscar M.
    http://www.UNIQUELAWNS.WEB.COM

2. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

I would base my bid on hours, not sq. ft. If you feel good about your residential bids then take a larger commercial area and break it down into smaller plots, figure the amount of time for each section and add them up. Chances are you will start out overbidding everybody then you'll see the light and adjust accordingly or stick to residential. Dollar for dollar I still feel residential is more profitable than commercial. I hope this helps, experience is the best teacher though.

3. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

I talked to a guy who's from Florida and lives here now. (Still trying to figure that one out - lol.)

He said that $1 minute was best he could recommend.

Hope this helps.
    Kris

4. TJLC

TJLC LawnSite Bronze Member

This will sound really stupid but what I do is ask them if I can cut it one time and then bid based on the time it took me. This has worked for me so far. Yes that does not mean they will accept your bid but at least there wll be less guess work involved. I'll bet you guys are all LOL.

5. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic