Question on Estimates, rate. Help!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by clemsonfan69, Nov 24, 2004.

1. clemsonfan69

clemsonfan69 LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Ok. So Im gonna charge approx. $50/man hour (Im new at this so I dont wanna charge too much or too little. Heres my dilemma:

Say I have Yard 'A'. How do I tell how long it will take so I can give an accurate estimate?

What if I THINK it will take 20 minutes, and it actually takes 35. Im selling my self short.

Should I give an initial cheap 'test' cut to show my quality and get a gauge on an accurate estimate?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

-CJ

2. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

its kind of trial and error a lot of times, not always, but most. After a few lawns you should be able to tell how long other lawns are going to take based on those few lawns.

3. clemsonfan69

from Florida

Really? Im just worried about screwing myself out of money by under estimating the yard time.

-CJ

4. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

really make sure to look at everything on the property. Amount of trimming, terrain, gates, # of obects to move or trim around, how much of sidewalks is there to blow off, how much edging if needed, where you can and can't get the mower into, etc. Really look at the whole, and not just the mowing.

5. I didn't notice if you said what kind of equip you have, but trust me if this is your first year you will get much faster, a yard that now takes you 35-40 min this year, will become a 20-30 min yard next year. You will learn more and more each cut you make, this knowledge of each property will make you more efficent. Just don't sacrafice quality inorder to gain 10 min.
    Good luck to you

6. turf9

turf9 LawnSite Member

I agree but don't sell yourself short on the test cut its tough to get up to speed if you give them to much of a deal on that one .You know what om getting at right

7. lqmustang

lqmustang LawnSite Senior Member