1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

question on initial investment

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by lawnboy1701, Nov 25, 2005.

1. lawnboy1701

lawnboy1701 LawnSite Member

Hello everyone. This would be my first post on this site. I have been a roofing contractor for the last two years. Which is actually a fancy way of saying a door to door roof salesman. Commision has been great thanks to a couple of hurricanes that have made business extremely profitable. I have been able to save almost 60k and will have another 50k by may after some commission checks come in on some big jobs. Long story short i have the money to start a small business of my own. I was thinking of starting a lawn business. I would like to invest 60k intially to get the thing going. I already have one work truck that i was planning on hiring a crew to drive. I was thinking of starting off with two trucks and trailers equiped for two crews. I will be honest I dont know alot about landscaping personally. I know how to get business and how to schedule crews. I do not know how to find crews. I guess my question would be how would you invest the 60k initially and would you start small and work alone or start big and run a couple of crews from the get go. i will have the money to do mass advertising and rent an office. Any insight would be grand. Thanks guy,
  2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic