Question to those of you that have used Flyers

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by moremow, Nov 17, 2006.

1. moremow

moremow LawnSite Member
    from roanoke

I have never used the flyers before. I do not know how you go about getting the flyers to the potential clients. Are you using a mail drop through the postal service to do this. Are you going out in neighborhoods and putting them in the newspaper boxes or on the door handles? I want to give it a try if it has been successfull. Also if you use the postal service in anytype of capacity do they charge you the typical cost for postage for each one. Sorry if these sound like dumb questions but I want to go to the people with experience and then I wont be so dumb anymore. Thanks in advance. Moremow,,,Roanke Va

2. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Lots of money to use the mail--- If you do, go to the P O and get a bulk mail # .
    But the best way is to just pass them out. (do not put them in mail boxes)
    Paper box ot door is OK. Kids are good to help

3. jasonnau

jasonnau LawnSite Senior Member

I stick the flyers inbetween the mailbox and the mailbox flag. It is illegal to put anything in the mailbox, but it isn't to put it on it. It's easy to drive a route and stick them in quick. Plus, you can guarantee they'll look at it because they definitely see it first before they get their mail. I always, always, always, get a good return of business when I do it this way. I get a 2-3% return on it. If I place 500 flyers, I can almost bet I'll get a good solid week of work, and a couple of new mowing customers.

4. Clear-Cut

Clear-Cut LawnSite Senior Member

i got 13 customers by just putting up a flyer with the "tear off" things..i cant explain it...i put a couple up at local banks and at the local food store and drug store....if you have a senior citizens place by you give them a flyer or 2 or 3