1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Question ZTR or WALKER

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by zima, Oct 20, 2005.

1. zima

zima LawnSite Member

I have been doing this for 3 years now as a part time,next year i am going full time,can't decide for a Ztr. or a Walker 26 hp i am a solo operator have 25 residencials,i have turn down jobs reason no time at all,i do 1 or 2 yards after work during the week rest on fri and sat, wife help me sometimes i also do irrigation repair work, done installs 5 years,so my question is what do you guys think be the best bet.This is my current equipment:

94 gmc truck redmax edger
    6x12 open trailer 2 ebz8000 blowers
    Bob cat 48 wb 1 ebz 4800 blower
    Snapper 36 wb etc,etc,.
    Troy built 33 mulcher
    Toro 21 comercial 5.5 hp
    sthil weedeater fs 130 THANKS FOR INPUT.
  2. Gene $immons

Gene $immons LawnSite Bronze Member

Depends on your budget i suppose. A walker brand mower is very expensive and you might need a few "big time" accounts to justify the expense. I have a 50" Dixie Chopper for big lawns. Around here most of the lawn crews use only 21" toro's, but may have a crew of 4 men on a single lawn at once. In fact, we do around 160 lawns a week in the peak season and only use the Dixie on a few lawns.

But if your solo, you might get sick of a small mower all day every day. Maybe look for a walk behind around a 36" or 48". I like Toro, but there are lots to choose from.

Good luck
  3. MarcSmith

MarcSmith LawnSite Fanatic

wow, you have just opened up pandora's box......