Questions on Upgrading Equipment

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by melvern, Jun 29, 2005.

1. melvern

melvern LawnSite Member

Starting out in S. Florida & looking at upgrading my homowner grade equipment. After a couple months I have a dozen accounts - small residential - and mow all. I also do maintenance on several and have done smaller landscape jobs. I envision going to about 25 accounts with a split of mowing/maintenance for dependable cash flow and also landscaping. I will be picking up a commercial job and hopefully some larger lots which will require a larger mower.

I worked as a groundskeeper several years ago, but the equipment was Smithsonian quality then. I would appreciate comments if this makes sense for my situation currently and would allow for some growth...

Blower - looking at a Redmax backpack - maybe the 5000 or 4401. Is the 7001 total overkill?

Trimmer - looked at a Shindy 261T and a Redmax ( 2400S or 2600S) but the dealer said the Shindy had fewer repair problems. Anyone familiar enough with the 4C Shindy to make a recommendation. I currently have an Echo split boom which I plan to use as an edger and back up.

Walk Behind - I'm looking at a 36" because it will fit through the gates around here. All these are fixed/gear driven I think. I've seen and priced a few at local dealers:

JD - approx $2300

Exmark - I think the price was $2100

Toro - $2500

I've had a hard time locating used ones, but I found a 2 yr (commercial use) Encore for $1500, and a dealer said he expected to get a 1 yr old Husky trade in (used for residential) for $1700. I'm a little leary buying used since I'm not knowledgeable about the equipment and probably wouldn't recognize any problems...

I already have some hand problems so was leaning toward the Exmark with ECS or the Toro.
  2. ToroLandscaper

ToroLandscaper LawnSite Bronze Member